Skip to main content
30Apr
Rough Magic
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM Edge Theatre
Date: April 30, 2021 to May 30, 2021
Where: Edge Theatre, 5451 North Broadway, Chicago, IL 60640, USA, Chicago, Illinois, United States, 60640
Phone: N/A
Event Type: Arts & Theater
Ticket Price: N/A
Transplanting characters from The Tempest to present-day New York, Rough Magic is a Shakespearean action-adventure-fantasy in the tradition of Harry Potter and The X-Men that conjures a mythical, magical meta-universe in which the evil sorcerer Prospero is willing to do anything to recover his stolen book of magic - even if it means Manhattan's destruction. Lucky for us, New York's defenders include a quartet of unlikely heroes: Melanie Porter, a plucky, raven-haired dramaturg with the ability to free characters from plays; Caliban, Prospero's hunky (though not-too-bright) son; Tisiphone, a revenge-seeking Fury from Ancient Greece; and a seventeen-year-old lifeguard from Coney Island named Chet Baxter. May the forces of evil beware!
erat to top